Faculty members honored for excellence

I am pleased to share some of the prestigious honors — both institutional and external — awarded recently to our colleagues.

Maryellen Giger, PhD, adds to her recent string of honors with the 2016 EMBS Academic Career Achievement Award. The Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society recognized Maryellen with its annual award for her outstanding and pioneering contributions to computer-aided diagnosis.

Two BSD faculty members received awards from the University for their outstanding contributions as teachers and mentors. Daniel McGehee, PhD, received a 2016 Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Nicholas Hatsopoulos, PhD, was awarded a 2016 Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring.

Finally, two of our colleagues— Michael Howell, MD, MPH, and Stacy Tessler Lindau, MD, MAPP — have been named to the second class of the Aspen Institute’s Health Innovator Fellows program.  The fellowship was created in 2015 to strengthen the leadership of innovators across the U.S. health care system and to connect, inspire, and challenge them to create new approaches that will improve the health and well-being of all Americans. It is extremely unusual to have two fellows chosen from the same institution in one year.

Please join me in congratulating them.