Faculty members receive national recognition

Please join me in congratulating colleagues who recently received national recognition for their accomplishments and leadership.

Neil Shubin, the Robert R. Bensley Distinguished Service Professor of Organismal Biology and Anatomy, was inducted into the American Philosophical Society — the nation’s oldest learned society, founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin. Neil was selected for this prestigious honor for his discoveries involving the evolution of limbs and the transition from water to dry land.

Jeffrey Hubbell, the Barry L. MacLean Professor of Molecular Engineering Innovation and Enterprise, Professor in the Committee on Immunology, recently received the Society for Biomaterials’ 2017 Founders Award, the organization’s top honor, given for “long-term, landmark contributions to the discipline of biomaterials.”

Olufunmilayo Olopade, the Walter L. Palmer Distinguished Service Professor and Associate Dean for Global Health received the 2017 American Society of Clinical Oncology’s Humanitarian Award at the ASCO Annual Meeting earlier this month in Chicago. The award recognizes an oncologist who personifies ASCO’s mission and values by going above and beyond the call of duty in providing outstanding patient care through innovative means or exceptional service or leadership in the U.S. or abroad. Funmi is known globally for her work on breast cancer genetics, health disparities and health equity, and cancer prevention. She talks about her work in an interview with the ASCO Daily News.

Thomas F. Gajewski, Professor of Medicine and Pathology, has been named one of 12 “Giants of Cancer Care for 2017” by OncLive®, an organization that offers oncology professionals information they can use in patient care through its publications videos. Tom, an authority on immunotherapy, is the fourth University of Chicago Medicine physician to win this honor since it began in 2013. Previous winners were Samuel Hellman, Janet Rowley (posthumously), and Everett Vokes. Tom and his team study new ways to overcome a tumor’s ability to resist immune-based therapies, with a focus on drugs that help the immune system, especially T cells, gain access to tumor sites.

Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology News named Michaela Gack, Associate Professor in the Department of Microbiology, to its list of “Top 10 Under 40” in Biopharma Research and Business. In a profile, the magazine cites her “unique experimental system that combines RNAi screens with proteomics as well as molecular, biochemical, and cell biological studies” to identify and characterize the regulatory mechanisms that govern the detection of viral infections.

Monica E. Peek, Associate Professor of Medicine and Associate Director of the Chicago Center for Diabetes Translational Research, was elected a Council Member to the national Society of General Internal Medicine. The national medical society’s 3,000 physician members are the primary internal medicine faculty of every medical school and major teaching hospital in the United States.

Stacie Levine, Associate Professor of Medicine, was accepted as a Fellow in the 2017-2018 Class of the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program for Women. The program is a yearlong, part-time fellowship for women faculty in academic medicine, dedicated to developing the professional and personal skills required to lead and manage in today's complex health care environment.