Quantrell and graduate teaching awards honor excellence in the classroom

Teaching is a crucial part of our mission in the Biological Sciences Division. Two of our BSD colleagues faculty members are among the faculty members honored by the University this year for exemplary efforts in the classroom that inspire students.

Bana Jabri

The Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Awards are believed to be the nation’s oldest prize for undergraduate teaching, reflecting the College’s commitment to honoring inspiring teachers. One of the winners this year is Bana Jabri, Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, and Vice Chair for Research in the Department of Medicine. Bana’s courses in immunology and immunopathology not only convey fundamental concepts to students, but also instill confidence that they can contribute novel ideas to the field.

Jason MacLean

The Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring recognizes regular, full-time faculty members in the four divisions and the Divinity School for exemplary graduate teaching. Among the recipients is Jason MacLean, Associate Professor of Neurobiology. Jason’s commitment to rigorous examination of neuroscience research provides students with essential critical thinking skills as they pursue their own careers.

Please join me in congratulating both Bana and Jason for their invaluable work preparing our students for the future.