Students awarded research fellowships, honored for service and leadership

I am immensely proud of our many Pritzker School of Medicine and Biological Sciences Division students who have been recognized for academic and research accomplishments, service to the community and leadership.

At the recent American Medical Association meeting in Chicago, Hasenin Al-khersan, MD’17, and Phillip Hsu, MSTP, received prestigious AMA Foundation Excellence Leadership in Medicine Awards.  The awards recognize physicians and students who exemplify the highest values of volunteerism, community engagement, leadership and dedication to the care of underserved populations.

Schweitzer Fellows

Schweitzer Fellows Rachel Stones, left, Margaret Wang, Jessica Chen and Tyrone Johnson

Four Pritzker students — Jessica Chen, Tyrone Johnson, Rachel Stones and Margaret Wang — have been named 2017-18 Schweitzer Fellows.  The Chicago Area Schweitzer Fellowship is a one-year service learning program during which students develop innovative community-based projects. During the coming year, our students will be implementing their programs at agencies from the South Side to Uptown to address the needs of vulnerable populations, including survivors of domestic violence and people who are housing insecure.

Our graduate students in the biological sciences have an excellent record of obtaining competitive fellowships, receiving national awards for their research, and publishing findings that advance their fields. BSD graduate students have received prestigious fellowships to support their research from the National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health, Ford Foundation, Field Museum of Natural History and other entities. A list of fellowship recipients and their faculty mentors can be found here.

The University’s Center for Leadership Involvement honored five Pritzker students with University of Chicago Student Leader Awards in recognition of their contributions to campus life and the surrounding community. The students honored include three recent graduates — Chris Mattson, MD’17, Sean Gaffney, MD’17, and Elizabeth Donnelly, MD’17 — and Shirlene Obuobi, MS4, and Zaina Zayyad, MSTP. Among these recipients are a student who opened her apartment to classmates for monthly conversations about race and identity, and a student whose efforts inspired Pritzker to launch the Identity and Inclusion (I2I) Initiative.

We all take pride in the contributions of these exceptional students.