Resources

Core Facilities

Core facilities are reopened now. Below you will find Technical Director contact information for each core facility. Communication directly with the core is the best strategy for your specific research needs.

Invoice payments will still be processed by the finance team through DDs or Credit Card. Contact information can be found at the bottom of your invoice. 

Comments & Suggestions Box

If you would like to offer comments or suggestions on how OSRF could better support your research at this time, please follow this link.

Next-Gen and Micro-Array Sequencing 

Users should contact Pieter Faber at pfaber@bsd.uchicago.edu and genomics@bsd.uchicago.edu for specific questions. Twitter: @UChicagoGenomic

DNA Sequencing and Genotyping 

Please contact DNACore@DNAServer.uchicago.edu for more information and assistance.

Biophysics 

Please contact Elena Solomaha at efilippo@bsd.uchicago.edu 

Biostatistics 

Cellular Screening Center 

Users should contact Carman Ka Man Ip at ckip@bsd.uchicago.edu for project specific questions. 

Biomolecular Nuclear Magnetic Resonance

For questions, please contact Joe Sachleben at jsachleben@uchicago.edu 

CRI Bioinformatics Core 

Mass Spectrometry Facility

NMR Facility (Chemistry)

X-Ray Facilities

Human Tissue Resource Center (HTRC) 

For specific questions, or to process COVID-19 samples, please reach out to Dr. Lingen by email at mark.lingen@uchospitals.edu.

Cellular and Tissue Based Processing cGMP Facility 

Please contact Diane Ostrega at dostrega@bsd.uchicago.edu for specific questions.  

Human Immunological Monitoring (HIM) 

For questions, please contact Yuanyuan Zha at yzha1@bsd.uchicago.edu 

Human Imaging Research Office (HIRO)

For questions, please contact Nick Gruszauskas at ngruszauskas@bsd.uchicago.edu Twitter: @HIRO_UofC

Organoid and Primary Culture Research Core (OPCR) 

Please contact Dr. Christopher Weber at cweber@bsd.uchicago.edu for more information.

Pharmacology - Analytical and Biofluids

Contact Jackie Ramirez at jramirez@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu for specific questions.

UChicago Practice-Based Research Network (PBRN)

Advanced Electron Microscopy: Cryopreservation and Tomography 

Please contact Joe Austin at joe.austin.em@gmail.com for more information.

Cytometry and Antibody Technology 

Please find current updates from the Technical Director here:https://voices.uchicago.edu/ucflow/message-from-the-technical-director/ 

Send email requests and inquiries to: CATHelp@bsd.uchicago.edu Twitter: @cat_uoc

Human Disease and Immune Discovery

Please contact hdid@bsd.uchicago.edu for more information.

Integrated Light Microscopy

For questions, please contact Vytas Bindokas at vbindoka@bsd.uchicago.edu 

Integrated Small Animal Imaging Research Resource  

For questions, please reach out to Brian Roman at broman@uchicago.edu 

MRI Research Center 

Cyclotron Facility 

PaleoCT

XROMM 

Animal Resources Center

Fly Kitchen

Transgenic/ES Cell Technology 

If you have any questions, please contact Linda Degenstein at ldeg@uchicago.edu

OSRF Logo

Office of Shared Research Facilities

The Office of Shared Research Facilities (OSRF) manages BSD Core Facilities by providing financial, administrative, IT, and communication support. OSRF works closely with The University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center and the Research Resources Oversight Committee.

Twitter: @UChicagoOSRF

UChicago COVID-19 Workspace Safety Checklist

Quick Links

George Langan

George Langan, DVM, DACLAM

Associate Dean for Research Resources

Research Resources Oversight Committee

The Research Resources Oversight Committee (RROC) of the Biological Sciences Division (BSD) serves as an advisory body, which in partnership with the Office of Shared Research Facilities (OSRF) establishes a policy framework for the operation of core facilities, reviews and prioritizes acquisition of major scientific equipment for the division, and provides scientific expertise and strategic planning for institutional research resources.

Quick Links